Baker, Gilliam, Hood River, Morrow, Umatilla and Wasco Counties

Children in the Columbia River Gorge and Northeast Oregon are becoming more confident readers, thanks to the many hours contributed by our generous and caring volunteers. In 2018-19, SMART Reading served 341 PreK through third-grade students in elementary schools and Head Start programs at 12 SMART Reading sites in the cities of Cascade Locks, Halfway, Hermiston, Hood River, Moro, Odell, Pendleton, and The Dalles. Our SMART Reading team, dedicated Site Coordinators and members of our local area Leadership Councils, are working hard to recruit new volunteers and raise the needed funds to continue to grow SMART Reading in this region. Our goal is to increase the number of children we are able to serve and have the opportunity to introduce them to the wonderful world of books and a lifelong love of reading.

Click here to read SMART Reading Northeast’s Year-end Report.

Click here to read SMART Reading Northeast’s 2018-19 Newsletter.

Local Staff:

Paula Seid Senior Program Manager

Volunteer Opportunities:

2020-21 UPDATE: Although the pandemic means in-person reading and other features of our program will be impossible this year, we’re making adaptations that will allow us to continue serving students and our volunteer opportunities have changed. Click here for more information on volunteering with SMART Reading. For a list of sites we serve in the Northeast Area, click here › or call 971-634-1614.

Business Partners and Civic Organizations:

Many local businesses and civic organizations support SMART Reading through sponsorships, donations, and volunteerism. For a list of our partners in the Northeast Area, click here ›

Leadership Councils:

SMART Reading Leadership Councils are groups of individuals who help SMART Reading flourish in our local communities through fundraising and recruitment.  Thank you to our Northeast Area Leadership Council members:

Hood River County:

  • Jenni Donahue
  • Teresa Earle
  • Anne Holmstrom
  • Kirby Neumann-Rea, President
  • JoAnn Wittenberg


Oregon Reads Aloud: A Virtual Celebration & Fundraiser2/26/2021

See event details ›